Fifa World Cup Qatar 2022: Everything you need to know about Friday’s draw

April 1st, 2022

England will discover their Fifa World Cup 2022 opponents in Friday’s draw.

One of Wales, Scotland or Ukraine will also be in Qatar this November and December but will not know until the remaining European play-offs in June.

Twenty-nine of the 32 World Cup teams are known, with two intercontinental play-off matches also set for June.

Jermaine Jenas hosts the draw from the Doha Exhibition & Conference Centre and it will be live on BBC TV and online from 16:45 BST on Friday, 1 April.

The entire show will be available uninterrupted on the BBC Red Button, iPlayer, BBC Radio 5 live and BBC Sport website – along with a live text commentary. BBC One will show it from 16:45-18:00 BST with the final half an hour on BBC Two.

Ex-England captain Alan Shearer, former Nigeria striker Efan Ekoku and ex-Scotland forward James McFadden plus journalists Julien Laurens and Tim Vickery will be among the BBC guests, with Jonathan Pearce commentating on the draw.

There will also be extensive coverage of the draw and reaction to it on BBC Radio 5 Live with presenter Rick Edwards on the red carpet in Doha and football correspondent John Murray providing commentary live from the draw ceremony.

The Fifa World Cup takes place between 21 November and 18 December in Qatar.

Here is everything you need to know about the draw which will take place in front of about 2,000 guests.

Who is in it?

Pot 1 (seeded teams): Qatar, Brazil, Belgium, France, Argentina, England, Spain, Portugal.

Pot 2: Mexico, Netherlands, Denmark, Germany, Uruguay, Switzerland, USA, Croatia.

Pot 3: Senegal, Iran, Japan, Morocco, Serbia, Poland, South Korea, Tunisia.

Pot 4: Cameroon, Canada, Ecuador, Saudi Arabia, Ghana, Wales/Scotland/Ukraine, Costa Rica/New Zealand, UAE/Australia/Peru.

How does it work?

This World Cup has the same format as the past few tournaments, with teams drawn into eight groups of four.

Teams are seeded based on the Fifa world rankings released on 31 March. Hosts Qatar will be given position A1 from Pot 1 and the top seven ranked teams who have qualified are the other top seeds. England are among them.

The three play-off winners not yet decided (Wales v Scotland/Ukraine, Costa Rica v New Zealand, UAE/Australia v Peru) will be in the bottom pot of seeds.

The draw will start with the teams in the top pot and work downwards, finishing with the bottom pot.

After a team is drawn out, a second ball will be drawn to decide which group they are in.

Teams from the same continent will be kept apart – except for European countries, where a maximum of two can be in any one group.

Unlike in previous World Cups, the match schedule will be decided afterwards and will not happen automatically depending on how teams are drawn out.

Fifa says this provides “scope to provide a more beneficial kick-off time for audiences at home”.

The Football News Show: All you need to know about the FIFA World Cup draw

Why don’t we know all the teams?

Usually all the teams would be known before the World Cup draw but this year three positions are yet to be decided for two different reasons.

Two intercontinental finals will be played in Qatar on 13 and 14 June. Costa Rica and New Zealand meet in one and in the other Peru will play the winner of the United Arab Emirates v Australia, who meet in the Asian play-off in Doha on 7 June.

Those games were moved from March because of knock-on effects of the Covid pandemic in each continent. All the Oceania qualifiers were played from 17 to 30 March in a mini-tournament in Qatar.

One of the three European play-off routes has been delayed because of the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Scotland’s semi-final against Ukraine at Hampden Park was postponed from March until an unspecified date in June when it is hoped Ukraine will be in a position to play.

The winner of that game will face Wales, who beat Austria in their semi-final, in Cardiff a few days later for a place at the World Cup.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply